Trello2Maya

What is Trello2Maya?

Trello2Maya brings a favorite organization tool for individuals and small teams into Maya. With the ability to create and manage new personal boards, lists, and cards you can keep track of individual or team tasks. You may never need to log in to Trello again!

Why not just use Trello’s website?

Maintaining flow while working can enhance productivity. Switching applications frequently can disrupt that flow. Especially when that other application is a web browser that allows further distractions. The ability to quickly add, review, and update tasks while staying on-task reduces the friction to getting work done.

What features are available?

Once authorized Trello2Maya’s interface allows users to create or close boards, create or archive lists within a board, create, edit, or delete cards within a list, and move cards between lists. This covers the majority of actions a user needs while they work to stay organized. Because Trello allows sharing boards between users, all updates are automatically shared with others.

How to set up Trello2Maya

  1. Clone or download the source code from GitHub or ArtStation.
  2. Copy the trello2maya folder into your Maya scripts directory.
  3. Open Maya and run the following in a Python script window:
    import trello2maya.util
    trello2maya.util.setup_shelf()
  4. From your new Trello2Maya shelf, click on Config to open the options.
  5. Click the Authorize button to access your Trello account and follow the prompts to create a user token.
  6. Copy and paste the generated token from Trello into the text box and click on Test to verify access. Once you have verified it is valid, Save the token and close the options.
  7. Click on the Trello shelf button to start using Trello2Maya. Any existing boards will be immediately accessible.

Using Maya2Trello

Managing Boards

  • Trello2Maya loads any existing boards you have access to that have not been closed.
  • Selecting an existing board will load the lists belonging to that board.
  • Clicking on the plus icon will prompt you for a new board name and add it to the boards. New boards will contain To Do, Doing, and Done lists by default.
  • Clicking on the garbage can icon will close the selected board. Closed boards can be reopened from the Trello website.
  • Clicking on the refresh icon will reload the available boards if the user has been granted access to new boards or boards have been updated through the website or by other users.

Managing Lists

  • Selecting a board will load the available lists for that board which have not been archived.
  • Selecting a list will load the cards belonging to that list.
  • Clicking on the plus icon will prompt you for a new list name and add it to the lists.
  • Clicking on the garbage can icon will archive the selected list. Archived lists can be restored from the Trello website.
  • Clicking on the refresh icon will reload the available lists if they have been updated through the website or by other users.

Managing Cards

  • Selecting a list will load the available cards for that list which have not been archived.
  • Selecting a card will load the card details in the right hand panel.
  • Clicking on the plus icon will prompt you for a new card name and add it to the cards.
  • Clocking on the garbage can icon will archive the selected card. Archived cards can be restored from the Trello website.
  • Clicking on the refresh icon will reload the available cards if they have been updated through the website or by other users.

Card Details

  • Selecting a card will load the card details in the right hand panel.
  • The card name and description can be edited and clicking on save will commit changes.
  • Buttons are available to move a card to a different list. Moving a card will select the new list in the left hand panel and refresh the cards appropriately.
  • Updates to name and description that have not been saved will be discarded when moving a card from list to list.